Launching the new DLNET site

After a good few months of planning, discussion and development the new DLNET site is up and running! Hooray!

The Digital Learning Network shares ideas and good practice in using digital technology to support learning in the Cultural Heritage sector.  As chair, I really want this new site to be a central point for gathering information and experiences about how the cultural sector is using Digital Tech in for learning. Whether that be online, in the gallery or in outreach.    I’ll be posting on there, as well as on here.  But I thought I’d let you know as I’m quite proud of the achievements DLNET has made recently!

I have been chair for over a year now; I am finally beginning to find my feet.  It’s been challenging but the DLNET committee are a brilliant team of individuals all working in and contributing to the digital learning field and all have be instrumental in making DLNET what it is.  I want to thank the committee and supporters, for all the help and support they have given me over this time and I hope they will continue to do so in the future.

Our initial change to become DLNET (from the E-learning Group building on the foundations for further achievement that Martin and the ELG committee had built up previously) was met with great enthusiasm and the concept going back to basics and get people talking about technology and learning in museums, archives and libraries is a clear message that is easy to understand.  Find people, build networks, share ideas

DLNET aims to provide three key things:

  • Support and advice on how technology can help deliver inspiring and creative learning in museums, libraries, archives
  • Training events and case studies of good practice
  • A discussion Network to share ideas

We became very aware that our old website was not working as well as it could.  We needed to think clearly about the websites intended use. We needed to consider our brand identity and DLNET values and work towards spreading the word about what we do, and why it’s important.  With the launch of this new site, I hope we have created a clear and definitive concept which will enhance the website for our users and make it more streamlined and easier to use.

I’m really pleased to feature an interview with Rhiannon from the Museum of London talking about the PictureBank.  I really think the PictureBank is an awesome learning tool.  I really want to push for sharing interesting digital learning case studies.  I think showcasing how different institutions are doing digital learning projects is a brilliant way to show the depth and breath of work going on in the sector.  If anyone wants their projects to be featured on DLNET do let me know!

I hope you like it!

 

Leave a Reply

